Baldrige National Quality Award of America

- Aug 28, 2018-

Set up quality benchmarks for the US economic recovery

The Malcolm Podolich National Quality Award was established under the Malcolm Podolich National Quality Improvement Act 1987, signed by President Reagan. The original idea of the Baldrige awards is to help American organizations achieve world-class quality.

History of awards

Established in 1987, the Podolich Quality Award is the foundation of various quality awards in the United States. It aims to enhance the awareness of quality management and commend American enterprises for the success of the quality management system.

In the 1980s, in order to meet the challenge of Japanese products, the United States President, congressmen, local government officials, experts and scholars, business operators set off a quality revival movement.

In October 1982, US President Ronald Reagan signed a Productivity Document that the United States productivity is declining, the result of which is that American products are expensive and uncompetitive in the international market. In September 1983, the White House Productivity Conference called for a national quality awareness campaign in the public and private sectors.

Against this background, American government departments and enterprises have shown increasing interest in TQM activities. Many government and business people have suggested setting up a national quality award similar to the Dai Ming Quality Award in Japan to help U.S. companies carry out TQM activities and improve product quality, labor productivity and market competitiveness in the United States.

Malcolm Podolich (who served as U.S. Commerce Secretary from 1981 until he died in an accident in 1987) insisted that quality was a key factor in the country's prosperity and long-term strength, leading to a series of hearings on the House Science and Technology Committee. He had strong interest in the quality improvement bill and helped draft the original draft of the bill.

In recognition of his contributions, the US congress named the national quality award act in his name. In 1987, the United States Congress passed the Malcolm Podolich National Quality Improvement Act, which provides for the establishment of national quality awards to award organizations with outstanding quality and performance achievements in order to enhance national awareness of the importance of quality and performance as a competitive advantage.


The Baldrige National Quality Award is an award given by the President of the United States to businesses, whether they are manufacturing or service industries, small or large enterprises, and to the Educational and Health Organization.

These enterprises have applied and passed the corresponding audits, proving that they are outstanding in at least one of the following seven areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market, information and analysis, human resources, process management, and business results. The award was initially reviewed annually by the manufacturing, service and small businesses. Since 1999, the education industry and health care industry have also started annual review. There are now six categories: manufacturing, services, small businesses, education, health care and non-profit organizations.

The award was based on the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence. It is not only the main basis for evaluating the U. S. National Quality Award, but also the main criteria for evaluating the U. S. President's Quality Award, state awards and performance improvement of military institutions.

Award role

The evaluation criteria of the Podolich National Quality Award are the Performance Excellence Evaluation Criteria (Business Enterprises and Non-profit Organizations), the Performance Excellence Evaluation Criteria (Medical and Health) and the Performance Excellence Evaluation Criteria (Education Institutions).

Practice has proved that the Baldrige quality award has effectively promoted the improvement of the quality level of the United States. First, it promotes the improvement of the quality of enterprises and the enhancement of competitiveness. According to the survey, 80% of enterprises believe that the award improves the quality of enterprises. The two is to encourage more companies to improve their performance and improve their management level by sharing the experience of awarding enterprises. Over the past 20 years, quality award winners, as advocates of excellence in quality, have made more than 30,000 reports to other organizations to publicize the award-winning experience. Third, as the criterion of the Podolich National Quality Award, the Criteria for Performance Excellence, has helped American enterprises achieve world-class product and service quality.

According to the American Business Association, millions of American business operators now have this standard on their hands, and the vast majority of large businesses use it as an important reference for training, self-diagnosis, self-evaluation and continuous improvement.

Previous:European Quality Award Next:Brief Introduction Of Major Quality Awards In Major Countries And Regions Around The World